History of MTB

The Roots of Biking - Hans Rey takes us back to the beginnings and takes a look at the dynamic changes of our times.

DSC_9666

Hans "No Way" Rey // MTB Legend // Wheels 4 Life

"In 1987 I landed in the heart of Southern California, one of the first regions in which the bike boom really began to take off. And from there grow to conquer the whole world. My destiny brought me directly to the legendary "Laguna Rads", an underground mountain bike club in the small town of Laguna Beach. At that time, the guys were already considered veterans of the scene and still meet every Wednesday for a ride. In the meantime, they've even been crowned the original freeriders. The Rads lived freeride long before the term was even invented. They rode with passion, loved extreme downhills and sat together around the campfire after the tour. I was immediately hooked. The Rads turned me into a biker."

Hans Rey takes us on a journey into the past, on a search for the beginnings; to the roots of our sport and how they continue to shape the dynamic changes of today. A lot has changed in over 40 years of mountain biking, but one thing has remained the same –  the genuine feeling of freedom. When conventions were broken on the North American West Coast and a handful of revolutionary two-wheeled enthusiasts in brilliant Lycra outfits and ski goggles took the bike to the mountains, not only was the foundation for our passion laid, but the first chapter of a worldwide success story was written - these are our ROOTS.
The road to today has been a long one. The ski goggles have been replaced, the bikes have improved and the story continues. From rigid forks to full-suspension chassis, from muscle power to the e-bike motor, from a local phenomenon to global fame, from a niche sport to a cross-cultural mainstream sport.

About Hans Rey
Hans Rey is considered a pioneer. The German-born Swiss-American was instrumental in shaping both the mountain bike freeride movement and the trials scene. As a professional rider and ambassador for the sport, he has had a major impact on generations of riders –  so it's no surprise that the former trials world champion was inducted into the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame. His adventurous spirit continues unabated, after traveling to more than 70 countries, Hans is still drawn to faraway places and continues to inspire people. In 2005, Hans founded the non-profit organization Wheels 4 Life, which distributes bicycles to people in developing countries who are most in need of transportation.

Glen Jacobs

About the distant trails in the Blue Tier Mountains

Glen Jacobs takes us on a journey to Tasmania

Gunnar Fehlau

On the outstanding appeal of gravel

Definition and potential of gravel biking

Chris Ball

About the spirit of Enduro

Insights into the EWS

Hans Rey

The MTB-legend's talk on the beginning of our sport

The history of MTB

Marc Schlüssel

On the magic of the Bike Kingdom and it's digital estates

Gary Vernon

About the Oz-Trails in Arkansas

How a trail network can facilitate an entire region

Olve Norderhaug

About Trysil, the most family-friendly MTB arena in Europe

Martin Vincenz

About Graubünden´s MTB-strategy

Home of Trails

Stephan Grapentin

About the Mountain Bike Monitor

the most comprehensive study on the mountain bike guest, his needs and wishes, in 2021 for the first time across Europe.

Graeme McLean

About Scotland´s MTB-strategy

Kevin Vermaak

The founder of the Cape Epic about the toughest MTB race in the world

Jasper Jauch

Invites you to a conversation about the scene

History of MTB

Die Wurzeln des Bikens - Hans Rey nimmt uns mit zu den Anfängen und wirft einen Blick auf die dynamischen Veränderungen der Zeit.

DSC_9666

Hans "No Way" Rey // MTB-Legende // Wheels 4 Life

„In 1987 landete ich im Herzen von Süd-Kalifornien, einer der Hauptregionen, in denen der Bike-Boom begann sich erst so richtig zu entfalten. Und der von dort aus in Kürze die ganze Welt erobern würde. Mein Schicksal brachte mich direkt zu den legendären „Laguna Rads“, einem Underground-Mountainbike-Club im Örtchen Laguna Beach. Die Jungs galten damals als die Haudegen der Szene und treffen sich noch heute immer jeden Mittwoch zur Ausfahrt. Mittlerweile wurden sie sogar als die Original-Freerider gekürt. Die Rads lebten Freeride, lange bevor der Begriff überhaupt erfunden wurde. Sie fuhren aus Leidenschaft, liebten extreme Downhills und saßen nach der Tour am Lagerfeuer zusammen. Der Funke sprang sofort auf mich über. Durch die Rads wurde ich zum Biker.

Hans Rey nimmt uns mit auf die Reise in die Vergangenheit, auf Spurensuche zu den Ursprüngen; zu den Wurzeln unseres Sports. Zusammen mit ihm werfen wir aber auch einen Blick auf die dynamischen Veränderungen unserer Zeit. In über 40 Jahren Mountainbiken hat sich einiges getan, doch eines ist geblieben – das unverfälschte Gefühl von Freiheit. Als an der nordamerikanischen Westküste mit den Konventionen gebrochen wurde, eine Hand voll revolutionärer Zweirad-Enthusiasten in schillernden Lycra-Outfits und Skibrillen das Bike in die Mountains überführte, wurde nicht nur der Grundstein für unsere Leidenschaft gelegt, sondern auch das erste Kapitel einer weltweiten Erfolgsgeschichte geschrieben – das sind unsere ROOTS.
Der Weg bis heute war ein langer. Die Skibrillen wurden ersetzt, die Bikes verbessert und die Geschichte fortgeschrieben. Von Starrgabeln zu vollgefederten Fahrwerken, über Muskelkraft hin zum E-Bike Motor, über eine lokale Erscheinung hin zur globalen Bekanntheit, von einer Nischen-Sportart hin zum gesellschaftsübergreifenden Breitensport.

Über Hans Rey
Hans Rey gilt als Pionier der frühen Jahre. Der in Deutschland gebürtige Schweiz-Amerikaner bestimmte maßgeblich das Geschehen sowohl der Mountainbike-Freeride-Bewegung als auch der Trial-Szene. Als professioneller Fahrer und Botschafter des Sports hatte er einen großen Einfluss auf Generationen von Fahrern und so überrascht es auch nicht, dass der ehemalige Trial-Weltmeister in die Mountainbike Hall of Fame aufgenommen wurde. Seine Abenteuerlust ist weiterhin ungebrochen, nach mehr als 70 bereisten Länder, verschlägt es Hans immer noch an ferne Orte, um Menschen fortwährend zu inspirieren. Im Jahr 2005 gründete Hans die gemeinnützige Organisation Wheels 4 Life, die Fahrräder an Menschen in Entwicklungsländern verteilt, die am dringendsten ein Transportmittel benötigen.

Glen Jacobs

Über die fernen Trails in den Blue Tier Mountains

Glen Jacobs nimmt uns mit auf eine Reise nach Tasmanien

Gunnar Fehlau

Was ist Gravel?

Definition und Potential des Gravel-Bikens

Chris Ball

Über den Spirit of Enduro

Einblicke in die EWS

Hans Rey

Die MTB-Legende erzählt über die Anfänge unseres Sports,

der Geschichte des Mountainbikens

Marc Schlüssel

Über das Bike Kingdom

und ihrer App, mit Mehrwert für die ganze Destination

Gary Vernon

Über die Oz-Trails in Arkansas

Wie ein Trailnetz eine ganze Region beflügeln kann

Olve Norderhaug

Über Trysil, der familienfreundlichsten MTB-Arena Europas

Martin Vincenz

Über Graubündens MTB-Strategie

Home of Trails

Stephan Grapentin

Über den Mountainbike Monitor

der umfassendsten Studie zum Mountainbike-Gast, seinen Bedürfnissen und Wünschen, in 2021 erstmalig europaweit

Graeme McLean

Über Schottlands MTB-Strategie

Kevin Vermaak

Der Gründer des Cape Epic über das härteste MTB-Rennen der Welt

Jasper Jauch

lädt ein zum Szene-Talk